Eurotech Universities

EuroTech Universities Alliance

The Alliance is a strategic partnership of five leading European universities of science & technology: École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), École Polytechnique (L’X) in Paris, Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e) and Technical University of Munich (TUM) and DTU.

EuroTech Universities was formally established in 2011. Together the partners are committed to finding technical solutions which address the major challenges of modern society. The intensive collaboration across research, education and innovation support the EU’s goals of smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.

EuroTech Universities anchors its activities in fast developing research and innovation areas, where the partner universities offer complementary strengths in education and research. EuroTech is open for collaboration to all stakeholders within the universities, including researchers and administrative staff. Tools and incentives are in place to facilitate cooperation. If you would like to expand your network, build a proposal with the partners or implement a joint project, the EuroTech tools for collaboration are at your disposal.

Brussels Office
EuroTech Universities has established the Brussels Office (BxO). The role of BxO is to provide an interface between developments at EU level and the cooperative activities of the Alliance. The staff consists of a Head of Office and a Deputy, as well as of a Liaison Officer for each of the universities. 

Read more about the activities and the BxO on the EuroTech website

Extended campus activities
A number of joint projects have been launched to strengthen EuroTech. One of the initiatives is the joint PhD course database. The aim of this initiative is to increase mobility for PhD students and to encourage more research cooperation. The database consists of almost 500 courses free of charge for PhD students within EuroTech.

The database can be found here:

EuroTech Universities is funding summer/winter schools, organized by doctoral candidates from the universities. In addition, the partners have entered in to a Joint Supervision agreement to ensure a better doctoral experience and more formal recognition of the co-supervision in the thesis and the award diploma.

EuroTech Universities has launched the European Venture Programme, which offers students exclusive access to their entrepreneurship expertise and networking resources. The intensive 12-day programme takes entrepreneurs on a journey to the different ecosystems, where a mix of thematic workshops, company visits, and public pitching competitions will enable the startups to grow their business beyond borders

EuroTech Universities has created a number of Joint Master Programmes. You can read more about the Joint Master Programmes in the box to the right. 

The alliance is governed by the presidents of the universities, who provide the overall strategic direction for the Alliance and define key initiatives. The Governing Board is responsible for implementing the strategic vision of the Presidents. It decides on the roadmap and budget for activities.

The Operations Board is responsible for the day-to-day management and implementation of activities. BxO is responsible for ensuring that the EuroTech activities are informed by the EU policy and funding landscape



Support for grant writing

Researchers from the four EuroTech universities who need assistance in preparing a joint proposal to international funding schemes such as the Horizon 2020 programme can apply for support.

Read more at the EuroTech universities website


Sébastien Bigandt
Office for Research and Relations
+45 45 25 13 61
Simon Elben Hertig
Office for Research and Relations
+45 93 51 14 19