Cultural Agreements: The Long-Term Scholarships


The Danish Government Scholarships under the Cultural Agreements are aimed at highly qualified master's and PhD level students wishing to immerse themselves in studies of the Danish language and culture or other fields of study related to Denmark.

Please note that if you are applying as an Erasmus or bilateral exchange student at DTU, you cannot apply for the cultural scholarships. The same goes for applicants to DTU's full degree programmes.

Scholarships are offered to master's and PhD level students from higher education institutions in the following countries: Brazil, China, Japan, Egypt, Russia, and Korea Republic. Please apply through the Danish Ministry of Education.

Please note: Scholarships are only offered to students enrolled in full degree studies at higher education institutions in the countries listed above. PhD students must likewise be employed at, or affiliated with, higher education institutions in the above-mentioned countries.

Applications from candidates affiliated with higher education institutions in countries other than those listed will not be taken into consideration.


For students at the graduate level, a stay should last at least one semester (5 months) and a maximum of two semesters (10 months).

For PhD students, a stay should last at least 3 months and a maximum of 12 months.

The stay must be completed within one academic year, ie. between 1 June 2018 – 30 September 2019. Grants may not be awarded across the academic year.

The size of the scholarship

The scholarships include exemption from payment of tuition fees and a monthly stipend of DKK 6,500.

The Danish Government Scholarship can be used to cover living, flights and visa costs and is dedicated to one person. It is not possible to receive additional amounts for accompanying family members.