The flag of Denmark, the Dannebrog, is considered the oldest continuously used flag of any country

Denmark at a glance


 Population 5,655,750 (2014)
 Area 42,916 square kilometres
 Provinces The Kingdom includes two autonomous provinces: the Faroe Islands and Greenland
Population density 130.50 per square kilometre
Geographic region Scandinavia
Capital Copenhagen 1,766,677 (2014)
Other major cities  Aarhus 326,676, Odense 197,513 & Aalborg 207,609 (2014)
Form of state Monarchy
Government Parliamentary democracy
Head of state Queen Margrethe II (since 14 January 1972)
Language Danish
Currency Danish Kroner, DKK. 1 Krone = 100 Øre (5,58 DKK = approximately 1 USD, 2014)
Religion 4,405,646 members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church (Protestant)
Climate Weather-wise Denmark is situated in the northern part of Europe and is blessed with four distinct seasons. Winters are dark and cold with occasional snowfall; springs are mild and balmy; summers are temperate and light with the Nordic sun setting close to 10 p.m., while autumns are often rainy and windy, but enriched with a rainbow of beautiful colours.