Organization of PhD studies at DTU

According to Danish regulation, the PhD study programme corresponds to three years of full-time studies (180 ECTS points) and includes:
  • an independent, scientific project
  • course activities equivalent to 30 ECTS points
  • external research stay
  • dissemination of knowledge corresponding to 420 working hours

The PhD degree is awarded in recognition of the recipient having completed a PhD programme as well as having defended a thesis in a satisfactory way. The PhD graduate has documented a capacity to carry out a scientific project involving independent application of the relevant scientific methodology, thereby displaying a research effort at a level corresponding to international standards of PhD degrees within the specific field.

PhD Schools and PhD Committees
PhD studies at DTU are conducted at one of the PhD schools. Each department at DTU constitutes a PhD school and so do some centers. The PhD schools are grouped into five PhD committees.
The five PhD committees at DTU are:

  • Mathematics, Physics and Informatics
    (PhD schools: DTU Compute and DTU Physics)
  • Chemistry, Biotechnology and Chemical Engineering
    (PhD schools: DTU Bioengineering, DTU Biosustain, DTU Chemistry, DTU Chemical Engineering and DTU Energy)
  • Electronics and Communication
    (PhD schools: DTU Electrical Engineering, DTU Fotonik, DTU Nanolab, and DTU Space)
  • Construction, Management Engineering, Mechanical Engineering & Wind Energy
    (PhD schools: DTU Civil Engineering, DTU Management Engineering, DTU Mechanical Engineering and DTU Wind Energy)
  • Life science
    (PhD schools: DTU Aqua, DTU Food, DTU Health Tech and DTU Environment)