Focus areas - Civil Engineering

The MSc Eng programme in Civil Engineering spans two years with a total workload of 120 ECTS points.

Focus areas

Any study plan must fulfill the Programme provision, with at total workload of 120 ECTS points, comprised of four parts: (i) general competence courses (30 ECTS points), (ii) technological specialization courses (30 ECTS points), (iii) elective courses (30 ECTS points), and (iv) a master thesis (30 ECTS points). At the same time, the programme is very versatile, allowing students to customise their study plans to best reflect their interests and professional goals.

As inspiration, listed hereafter are some suggested focus areas (ordered alphabetically) and their associated/relevant courses; please take note of the prerequisites when designing you study plan. 

  • Bridges, Pavements, and Large Structures
  • Building Services
  • Cold Regions (Sisimiut campus, Greenland)
  • Digitalisation
  • Geotechnical Engineering
  • Marine and Coastal Engineering
  • Mechanics of Materials
  • Project Management
  • Structural Engineering
  • Subsurface Engineering
  • Sustainability

A list of relevant courses, associated with each of the above-listed focus areas, is periodically circulated via internal correspondence. Feel free to make an appointment with the head of studies if you would like to discuss further.