Photo: DTU

Researcher in biomedical signal processing receives AEG Elektron Award

Greater knowledge about electrical signal processing can facilitate better monitoring, diagnostic, and treatment solutions as well as improved general health for patient, both at home and when hospitalized. For his extensive research within the biomedical field of electrical signal processing, Associate Professor Helge B. D. Sørensen has just received this year’s AEG Elektron Award.

On 24 September, Associate Professor Helge B.D. Sørensen was presented with the award and a cheque for 50,000 Danish kroner for his comprehensive work with biomarkers for neurodegenerative diseases. Helge Sørensen’s research group and its partners have, for example, shown that signs of Parkinson’s disease can be detected several years before actual symptoms appear.

The main results of his work include the invention and testing of automated methods for classifying tonic-clonic epileptic seizures; biomedical signal processing methods for detecting early markers of neurodegenerative diseases; and the development of methods for the quantitative measurement of stress based on signals from the heart.

The tools developed show particularly promise in connection with the investigation of sleep-related diseases and brain diseases. Where previously doctors had to spend 4-5 hours manually analysing a full night’s measurements, thanks to automated biomedical signal processing, more robust diagnostic results are now available in less than a minute. Helge Sørensen’s research also holds potential within the pharmaceutical industry, where fast and consistent feedback from the newly developed measuring and analysis methods may enable the development of new medicines.

“Helge Sørensen is a worthy recipient of this prestigious award,” says Head of Department Kristian Stubkjær, adding: “Helge’s research is an excellent example of how the pooling of knowledge from doctors and the pharmaceutical industry combined with advanced electrical measuring methods can lead to cheaper and faster diagnosis—for the benefit of all.”

Foto: DTU
From left: Head of Department Kristian Stubkjær, Board member Jens Chr. Hesse Rasmussen, Board member Søren Thostrup, award winner Helge B. D. Sørensen, Chairman of the Board (and former President) Hans Peter Jensen, and Senior Vice President Niels Axel Nielsen.

About the AEG Elektron Award

This year, DTU is presenting the AEG Elektron Award for the twenty-seventh time.

The foundation has two purposes:

  • To provide support for engineering students, teachers, and professors working in the field of electronics at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), allowing the grant recipients in question to pursue their studies and investigations in Denmark and abroad.
  • To provide support for periods of study abroad for people working in Danish trade and industry with particular interest in electro technology.