Anders Baun

Anders Baun


Department of Environmental Engineering

Technical University of Denmark


Building 115, room 140

2800 Kgs. Lyngby

Fax +4545 93 28 50
ORCID 0000-0003-1396-408X

Request a vCard via e-mail.

DTU news


Keywords Nanomaterials | Risk assessment | Ecotoxicology | Chemicals | Environmental Chemistry

Anders Baun

Anders Baun is professor in risk assessment of nanomaterials and head of the Enviornmental Chemistry section at the Department of Environmental Engineering, Technical University of Denmark. He has a M.Sc. in Environmental Engineering (DTU, 1994) and holds a Ph.D. in application of biotests for characterization of contaminated water samples (DTU, 1998). His post doc. research focused at risk assessment, chemical, and biological aspects of groundwater pollution. His main research area is today environmental risk assessment of nanomaterials.

He has been the project leader at DTU for several research projects receiving both national and international funding, e.g. the H2020/EU FP7 projects caLIBRAte, NanoRem, MARINA, NanoImpactNet, and Engineered Nanoparticles - Review of Health and Environmental Safety (ENRHES). In 2011 Anders Baun received one the European Research Council’s Starting Grants for excellent European researchers.

He is the author of more than 250 scientific peer-reviewed contributions (100 of which are ISI papers). In 2016 his ISI papers were cited more than 750 times and his current ISI H-index is 32.

He has served as associate editor for Water Research (2004-2008) and since 2012 for Nanotoxicology one of the world’s leading journals in toxicity of nanomaterials (ISI impact factor 7.33). He has been an expert member of several international committees on nanomaterials and risk, e.g. EU’s scientific committee for new and emerging risks (SCENIHR) and the Swiss Research Foundation programme for nanotechnology.

In 2008 he received the Environmental Award (40,000 Euro), in 2011 the Statoil Prize (13,000 Euro), and the World Cultural Council’s Special Recognition Award 2012 for his research in environmental effects of nanomaterials.  In 2009 he was awarded the “PhD Supervisor of the Year” award at DTU.