Photo: Mikal Schlosser and DTU

Two DTU researchers receive EUR 5 million from the ERC for independent research

Chemistry Physics
Two DTU researchers have received the prestigious ERC Advanced Grants from the European Research Council.

Professor Jesper Mørk, DTU Fotonik, and Professor Georgios Kontogeorgis, DTU Chemical Engineering, have each received an ERC Advanced Grant of EUR 2.5 million (DKK 18.7 million) from the European Research Council (ERC).

The funds are awarded to support leading and established researchers, enabling them to conduct pioneering high-risk research.

Professor Jesper Mørk from DTU Fotonik receives EUR 2.5 million for his project ‘Fano Photonics’, which will investigate the physics and applications of a new class of photonic components based on a resonance phenomenon known as Fano resonance.

This physical phenomenon entails the opportunity to develop ultrafast and low-noise nanolasers, optical transistors, and quantum components working at the level of a single photon.

Professor Georgios Kontogeorgis from DTU Chemical Engineering receives EUR 2.5 million for his project ‘New Paradigm in Electrolyte Thermodynamics’, which will provide a basic understanding of the thermodynamics of electrolytes, making it possible to create a new generation of electrolyte solutions.

Electrolyte models can be found almost anywhere and have numerous applications within chemistry, geology, materials science, medicine, biochemistry, and physiology, as well as within many engineering areas, particularly chemical, biochemical, electrical, and oil technology engineering.

This time around, Denmark receives six of the prestigious European top-level research grants at a total of EUR 15 million, with the University of Copenhagen receiving three, DTU two, and Aarhus University one.

Across Europe, a total of 222 top researchers from 29 countries will receive ERC Advanced Grant totalling EUR 540 million for their excellent and ground-breaking research projects.
For this round of applications, the ERC has evaluated 2,052 applications, of which approximately 11 per cent will receive a grant.