Erik Arvin

Professor Emeritus

Erik Arvin

Department of Environmental and Resource Engineering

Building Room



Water treatment Water quality Water supply Waste water Ground water Water pollution Aquaculture

Professor in water supply engineering. M.Sc. in chemistry from DTU 1969. Worked by Haldor Topsøe A/S (process engineering) and NOVO A/S (enzyme production) before being employed by DTU. Research associate professor at Dept. of Civil Engineering at Stanford University 1987-1988. Specialist in water quality and water treatment. His research deals with biological and chemical processes in water treatment plants for the removal natural compounds like ammonium and arsenic and organic contaminants like oil- and creosote compounds, solvents, pesticides, etc.. He also studies processes in drinking water pipelines, for example release of organic compounds from plastic pipes. He has been working with processes for remediation of contaminated groundwater and removal of phosphorus and nitrogen from wastewater. He and Krüger A/S developed and patented the BioDenipho process for biological removal of phosphorus. His research is published in 133 peer reviewed  ISI journal papers with 2388 citations, 30 peer reviewed conference papers and 20 book chapters. His h-index is 29 (Web of Science). He emphasize national communication to companies and public authorities through more  than 100 danish journal papers, and 27 reports.  Co-author of two patents, 1. Glucose Isomerase (NOVO), 2. BioDenipho Process (Krüger A/S). His teaching covers: Wastewater Engineering, Water Supply, Design of Water and Waterwater Plants, Environmental Engineering Science, Environmental Biotechnology, Soil and Groundwater Pollution, Environmental Chemistry, and Environmen­tal Engineer­ing in Developing Countries. Guidance to students in their final year on specialised topics in Environmental Engineering. Supervised approximately 100 M.Sc. thesis projects and 22 PhD projects. He was awarded: 1. The Pump Handle Award 2014 - John Snow Society, 2. Knight’s Cross of the Order of the Dannebrog, 2009, 3. ATV Soil- and Groundwater Prize 2005 - In memory of Professor Poul Harremoës, 4. DADES Environmental Prize 2000, 5. Limprisen 1987.