Yifeng Zhang

Associate Professor

Yifeng Zhang

Department of Environmental and Resource Engineering


Building 115 Room 214

2800 Kgs. Lyngby




Yifeng Zhang


Microbial interactions Water resources recovery Microbial electrochemistry Wastewater treatment Bioelectrochemical Biosensors waste-derived nutrients recovery Fermentation, Downsteream processing Anaerobic digestion

Dr. Yifeng Zhang obtained his Ph.D. degree from DTU in 2012, with the financial support of DTU scholarship. He is also serving as editor/associate editor in serveal prestigious journals in the field including Water Research, Science of the Total Environment, Frontiers in Microbiology, Sustainable Horizons, Water Cycles etc. His major research interests are microbial electrochemistry and biotechnology to support the 2nd, 6th, 7th, 12th, and 13th UN Sustainable Development Goals through sustainable water treatment, resource recovery, CO2 capture and utilization, biosynthesis, and environmental bioremediation & monitoring. He is recognized as an international young leader in both (i) microbial electrochemistry as well as (ii) bioresource recovery from wastewaters. His accomplishments so far have been well documented in over 145 SCI publications in top journals in the field, 2 patents, 4 book chapters, and numerous conference contributions. According to Google Scholar, his works have been cited over 5600 times and with an H index of 40. He has been listed as World's Top 2% Scientists 2020 and 2021. In the same year, he was selected as top 50 among global competitions for The Elsevier Foundation-ISC3 Green & Sustainable Chemistry Challenge Award. In 2022, he received Honorable Mentions for the James J. Morgan Early Career Award given by the American Chemical Society. Since receiving his PhD, he has been successfully attracting over 35 M DKK funding from e.g., Horizon Europe, The Carlsberg Foundation, Independent Research Fund Denmark, the Villum Foundation, and the Novo Nordisk Foundation. In 2018, he received a Carlsberg Foundation Distinguished Fellowship which is given to talented young scientists to establish their research group.