DTU Ørsted Lectures

Since 1998, DTU has invited prominent researchers from around the world to lecture on their work, research results, and the perspectives in their research field at the DTU Ørsted Lecture series.

The lectures are intended as a unique opportunity for researchers, students and alumni to be inspired by some of the brightest minds in fields that are investigated at DTU.

The Ørsted lecturers are invited based on their prominent position within their research fields as well as for their ability to engage a wider audience with their professional enthusiasm and insight.

Upcoming lectures are announced in the DTU calendar and on campus.

DTU Ørsted Board:

Provost Rasmus Larsen (President)
Professor Anker Degn Jensen, DTU Chemical Engineering
Professor Anders Baun, DTU Environment
Professor Tejs Vegge, DTU Energy
Professor Anja Boisen, DTU Health Tech
Professor John Leif Jørgensen, DTU Space
Professor Dorte Juul Jensen, DTU Mechanical Engineering

Previous DTU Ørsted Lecturers

Professor Anders Nilsson, Division of Chemical Physics, Department of Physics, Stockholm University, Sweden

Nobel Laureate, Professor Gerard Mourou, École Polytechnique, France

Professor Steven D. Eppinger, The MIT Sloan School of Management, USA
Nobel Laureate, Professor Frances H. Arnold, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Caltech, USA

Professor Stephen Boyd, Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, USA

Nobel Laureate, Professor Steven Chu, Department of Physics and Department of Molecular & Cellular Physiology, Stanford University, USA
Professor Steven G. Louie, Department of Physics, University of California at Berkeley, USA
Professor Zoubin Ghahramani, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge, UK

Professor Frank S. Bates, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of Minnesota, USA
Professor George M. Whitesides, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology; Harvard University, USA

William F. Baker, Structural Engineering Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP, USA
Professor Robert S. Langer, Department of Chemical Engineering, MIT, USA

Nobel Laureate, Professor Ada Yonath, Department of Structural Biology, Weizmann Institute, Israel
Professor H. Jeff Kimble, Institute for Quantum Information and Matter, Caltech, USA

Dr. John E.P. Connerney, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
Professor James R. Rice, School of Engineering and Applied Science and Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, USA

Nobel Laureate, Professor Mario Molina, Basic Science Faculty, University of California, San Diego, USA
Professor Michael Grätzel, Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, CH

Professor Stanley N. Cohen, Department of Genetics, Stanford University, USA
Professor Juan de Pablo, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA

Professor Lene Hau, Department of Physics, Harvard University, USA

Professor Sajeev John, Department of Physics, University of Toronto, Canada
Professor Howard A. Stone, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University, USA

Nobel Laureate, Professor Ahmed Zewall, Caltech, USA
Professor Nathan S. Lewis, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Caltech, USA


Gitte Lunde Andresen
Head of Stakeholder Management
+45 45 25 11 96


Thomas Mellerup
Academic Officer, Stakeholder Management
+45 93 51 09 25