Nordic Five Tech Alliance

Nordic Five Tech is a strategic alliance between the five leading technical universities in the Nordic countries: Chalmers in Gothenburg, KTH in Stockholm, NTNU in Trondheim, Aalto in Helsinki and DTU

The Nordic Five Tech alliance was established in 2006 with the purpose of creating a common entrance point for international students to engineering programmes in the Nordic countries and to establish an extended campus for its students, academics and staff.

The alliance makes use of the complementary strengths of its partners to create synergies between activities within education, research and innovation and increase benefits for its researchers and students.

The alliance is based on concrete collaboration projects. Examples are;

  • Joint Master Programme
  • Research projects
  • PhD courses
  • Quality assurance through peer-to-peer evaluation

Read more about the activities on the Nordic Five Tech website.

Extended campus activities
The alliance collaborates on creating an ”extended campus”, where different learning activities for students is offered across the alliance member universities. This includes a joint PhD course database.

The alliance has created a number of Joint Master Programmes with financial support from the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Read more about the Joint Master Programmes.

Furthermore, the students also play an active role in the alliance through collaboration between the five Student Unions.

The Nordic Five Tech is governed by a Committee and annual presidents’ meetings. The chairmanship shifts between the member universities. A joint Secretariat coordinates and monitors the activities.