DTU is an independent and self-governing university with a Board of Governors as its highest authority. The Academic Council oversees a range of academic matters, and the President is responsible for the day-to-day management of the University.

DTU organization

Download organization diagram (.pdf).

DTU is managed in a line and staff organization with an unbroken chain of command in which managers have personal management responsibility for each organizational unit.

The University’s main activities are organized in line units: departments, centres and institutes; a national laboratory for sustainable energy; and subsidiaries when activities are appropriately organized using the arm's length principle. Support activities are organized in staff units.

Board of Governors

DTU’s Board of Governors is the highest authority for the University’s activities. The Board of Governors approves the University’s strategy as well as budget and action plans, enters into Development Contracts with the Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation, appoints the President and makes decisions on new building projects, etc. The Board of Governors meets at least four times a year. The Board of Governors comprises as of 1st January 2009 of six external members as well as two students and two staff representatives. The President takes care of secretariat services for the Board of Governors.

The President also takes care of the daily management of the University with responsibility for the Board.

Executive Board

The President is in charge of the Executive Board, which in addition to the President also comprises the Provost, the University Director, the Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Student Affairs, the Dean of Graduate Studies and International Affairs, the Director for Public Sector Consultancy, and the Director for Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

Academic Council

The Academic Council is DTU’s supreme academic body and awards PhDs and Doctorates. The Council reports to the President on, among others, the distribution of funding and can also advise the President on central strategic educational, research and innovation plans. The President is Chairman of the Academic Council, which also comprises student and scientific staff representatives from DTU.

Board of Representatives

The Board of Representatives considers at the highest level, the University’s education, research and innovation and also appoints the external members of DTU’s Board of Governors upon request. The Board of Representatives comprises two members from each Advisory Board.


The University’s main services, i.e. education, research, public sector consultancy and innovation, are managed by the departments within their individual areas. The departments plan and organize the research and teaching within each of their academic areas and collaborate on the individual disciplines and lines. The departments are run by a Head of Department, who reports to the President. The Head of Department is assisted by an Advisory Board, which comprises external representatives for the department’s core interests.

Study boards

Study boards at DTU are placed within the various university departments in the form of a department Study Board (ISN). They work with the educational framework for BEng, BSc, and MSc degrees as well as teaching in the individual department.

Support functions

There are eight administrative offices at DTU.

Affiliated companies

DTU has a number of affiliated companies (public limited companies) with independent boards. These subsidiaries underpin the University’s core services through their activities and on market terms.