Board of Governors

DTU’s Board of Governors is the highest authority for the University’s activities.

The Board of Governors approves the University’s strategy as well as budget and action plans; enters into Development Contracts with the Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation; appoints the President, and makes decisions on new building projects, etc.

The Board of Governors meets at least four times a year and comprises ten members: six external members, two students, and two staff representatives.

The President provides secretariat services to the Board of Governors.

Members of DTU's Board of Governors as of January 2024:

Chairman Karin Markides. Professor, President and CEO, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (OIST)
Other directorships: Member of Board of Directors of Einride AB and Perstorp Holding AB.

Ulrik Juul Christensen. Chairman and CEO, Area9 Lyceum
Other directorships: Member of the Board of Directors of LEAP Innovations.

Henrik ClausenCEO, TDC Net Holding and TDC Net A/S

Susanne Juhl. Freelance consultant and board member
Other directorships: Member of the Board of Politiken-Fonden, A/S Politiken Holding, Nunaoil A/S, Evida A/S and JP/Politikens Hus A/S.

Thea Larsen. CEO, Danish Gas Technology Centre
Other directorships: Member of the Board of Directors of DI Energi, Danish Gas Association, ERIG, GERG, Brintbranchen Hydrogen Denmark, Gasmuseet and president for Marcogaz.

Hanne SøndergaardChief Marketing Officer & Executive Vice President, Arla Foods Amba.
Other directorships: Member of the Board of Directors of the Arla Foundation. Chairman of Ejendomsaktieselskabet of 2/1 1989 Esbjerg, Tage Søndergaard Holding A/S and Annalise and Tage Søndergaards Fond.

Kasper Bøgh Pedersen. Information consultant. Elected by and from among the technical-administrative staff at DTU.

Ole Sigmund. Professor. Elected by and from among the academic staff at DTU.

Louise Frost. Stud.polyt. Elected by and among students.

Natasha Hougaard. Stud.polyt. Elected by and among students.